David Fellows (Solihull CC) and Alice Taylor (Congleton CC) took the top spots in Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles Mountain Time Trial on the first Saturday in October, winning a five-day stay in Riccione, Italy, courtesy of event sponsors Hotel Milano Helvetia, with full board and guided cycle tours. All entrants to the events receive a 10% discount on their stay.

Tough weather conditions made for hard racing. There was a brute of a headwind on the most exposed section of the course along Morridge Top, then a troublesome crosswind on the main descent towards Longnor. Thankfully, riders were helped by a tailwind up the big climb towards Flash Bar. It rained throughout.

In the senior men’s event there were just three starters from 13 entrants, such were the conditions. The vets and women were made of sterner stuff, with the majority taking the start, and no non-finishers. Thijs Geurts (Macclesfield Wheelers) was the quickest veteran.

Thank you to everyone who entered. Next year the event is Round 2 of CTT’s Classic Series and we are back to our usual Good Friday slot, with the Start, Finish and HQ in Longnor.

Thank you to the members and friends of Buxton CC:

Start timekeeper and assistant: Judith Soden & Nick Sharpe

Finish timekeeper and assistant: Tony Millington & Carl Braithwaite

Signage and roving marshal: Sandy Strachan

First aid: Alison Lea.

Flash Bar – Michael Allcroft & Julian Torkington;
Winking Man – Rob Cummings & Geoff Lewis;
Hardings Booth – Paul Attiwell & Steve Ingram;
Longnor – Dave Parker, Adrian Kelsey, Jon Plumtree & David Colclough;
Hollinsclough junction – Pat Holborn & Cathy Murray.

Thank you to The Knights Table who provide B&B accommodation at Flash Bar, for use of their land for the Start. Thank you to Mr Wood for use of his land for the Finish timekeeper. Thank you too, to Flash village hall, for use of the hall.

Thank you too, to Sett Valley Cycles, who kindly provide the prize for Lanterne Rouge, awarded to Tracy Gregory of Buxton CC.



  1. David Fellows (Solihull CC) 1:30:31
  2. Joseph Molyneaux (Congleton CC) 1:53:03
  3. Gareth Haines (Race Hub) 2:05:52


  1. Alice Taylor (Congleton CC) 1:16:50
  2. Liz Batt (Buxton CC / Sett Valley cycles) 1-20-48
  3. Catherine Hughes (Ilkeston CC) 1:25:54


  1. Thijs Geurts (Macclesfield Wheelers) 1:08:06
  2. Jimmy Froggatt (SKCC) 1:10:47
  3. Andy Hicklin (Peak RC) 1:11:09