Buxton CC logo
Sponsored by Sett Valley Cycles
SVC logo
* photos by Mick Hall Photography
Brett Harwood-2017 Joe Bowers 2017 Monica Dew 2017


Welcome to the Site for the Buxton Mountain Time Trial

The Buxton Mountain Time Trial is organised by Buxton Cycling Club on behalf of Cycling Time Trials and is held annually on Good Friday each year and is a Sigma Sports Classic Series event.

The course is a circuit of 11 miles starting and finishing in Longnor which is completed three times by the Men and twice by the Veterans, Women, Paracyclists and Juniors. There are 390 metres of climbing per lap which, along with the variable weather, makes this one of the hardest time trial events in the country. It's set in the heart of the Peak District National Park and so takes place amidst beautiful scenery and so it's a great day out if you come to watch by bike or by car. Many family members, supporters and fans congregate in Longnor, where the race starts and finishes, to watch the riders pass through each lap and, if they fancy a break, there are plenty of pubs and cafés as well as the event HQ to keep them occupied.

The 2019 event will place on Good Friday, 19th April. Queries about the event should be sent to TTT2019@gmx.com

2019 Results:

Provisonal Result now available at: http://www.buxtoncyclingclub.co.uk/MTT/Files/MTTProvRes19-4-2019.pdf

Men (3 laps)

1 John Archibald (Ribble Pro Cycling) 1:17:09
2 Adam Wild (GS Metro) 1:21:41
3 Phil Williams (Liverpool Phoenix CC) 1:23:00

Women (2 laps)

1 Joscelin Lowden (The Independent Pedaler) 1:00:24
2 Sarah Storey (Storey Racing) 1:01:21
3 Kelly Murphy (Storey Racing) 1:03:02

Paracyclists (2 laps)

1 Ben Watson (Glossop Kinder Velo CC) (Scr. 1:02:02, Cat C3, Factor 1.149) Adj. Time 53:59
2 David Murphy (Liverpool Mercury Dolan CC) (Scr. 1:01:05, Cat C5, Factor 1.058) Adj. Time 57:44
3 Katie Toft (Storey Racing) (Scr. 1:36:48, Cat WC1, Factor 1.611) Adj. Time 1:00:05

Juniors (2 laps)

1 Chris  Mann (Velotik Racing Team) 58:39
2 Ewan Mackie (Matlock CC) 59:57
3 Daniels Kucerjavijs (Team JRC) 1:00:22

Veterans (scratch) (2 laps)

1 Scott Walker (Team Bottrill) 59:12
2 Joe Le Sage (Rutland CC) 59:35
3 Simon Deeley (Team HUUB) 1:00:46

Veterans (on target) (2 laps)

1 David Hargreaves (North Lancashire RC) (Scr. 1:07:17) Against Target Time +02:14
2 Dave Dent (GS Stella) (Scr. 1:01:26) Against Target Time -00:03
3 Trevor Mayne (Birdwell Wheelers) (Scr. 1:01:52) Against Target Time -00:29


What Are Time Trials?

Time trials are individual or team cycling races held against the clock on open public roads. For more information see the Cycling Time Trials website: http://www.cyclingtimetrials.org.uk/Contents/view/about

To find out how you can take part, see: http://www.cyclingtimetrials.org.uk/Contents/view/beginners

Entry forms, parental consent forms (for U18s) can be found here: