Buxton CC logo
Sponsored by Sett Valley Cycles
SVC logo
ABOUT: Buxton CC Mountain TT
* photos by Mick Hall Photography
Brett Harwood-2017 Joe Bowers 2017 Monica Dew 2017


What is the Buxton Mountain Time Trial?

The Buxton Mountain Time Trial is organised by Buxton Cycling Club on behalf of Cycling Time Trials and is held annually on Good Friday each year, 19th April 2019 next time. It is a Knight Composites Classic Series event.

The course is a circuit of 11 miles starting and finishing in Longnor which is completed three times by the Men and twice by the Veterans, Women and Juniors. There are 390 metres of climbing per lap which, along with the variable weather, makes this one of the hardest time trial events in the country. It's set in the heart of the Peak District National Park and so takes place amidst beautiful scenery and so it's a great day out if you come to watch by bike or by car. Many family members, supporters and fans congregate in Longnor, where the race starts and finishes, to watch the riders pass through each lap and, if they fancy a break, there are plenty of pubs and restaurants as well as the event HQ to keep them occupied.

Tony Millington is the organiser of the Buxton Mountain Time Trial in 2019 and you can contact him at TTT2019@gmx.com


There are a few people in addition to our sponsors who should be thanked: 

Nick and Hilary Sharpe, Nick organised the event for 18 years before stepping down after the 2010 event. Hilary has been doing the refreshments for 25 years.

Tony Millington and Judith Soden, our timekeepers again in 2018.

To the marshals and others from Buxton Cycling Club and elsewhere who offer their help.